Inveraray Jail Break 2014

Race Report

Runners cross the Aray for the first time.

A new start route and fine weather for the fifth Inveraray Jail Break down the Main Street was a fabulous beginning to an exciting race. With three races taking place simultaneously there was a great atmosphere as families, brothers and sisters and friends all competed together. There were no tumbles on the challenging hill course but many course records came crashing down in all races. The Inveraray Jail Break main race, a mere 7.3 km with a 236m climb to Dun Na Cuaiche Folly was won in a stunning 26.37 by Michael Deason (Shettleston Harriers), last years winner Grant Cairns was second MS (32.23-Springburn Harriers) with Andy Wallace from 7-Scots part of a team competing for the Argyll Adventure Quaiche third MS (33.26).

Michael Deason on approach to finish.
Ewan Dudding, first junior and second overall
Flares released when the first runners arrive at the top.
Sarah McFadzean, third female senior

Another fantastic finish was by Ewan Dudding competing for the first time in this race and chasing Michael down the hill to finish second overall and setting a very high bar for future male juniors (29.13). As usual the male veterans were up there at the top of the leader board. Neil MacNicol (29.38-Beacon Runners) was fourth to finish and first in category, followed by Andrew Gilthorpe (35.16), third in category was Keith Johnson (35.36- Cani Fit). The veteran 50 plus men were led home in a fabulous time by Paul Thompson (29.32-Ronhill Cambuslang Harriers) who was in our very first Jail Break to make him first in category and third overall. Local Mid Argyll Triathlon Member Bill Halliday was second in category (37.33) followed by Roddy McAlpine (39.37). Lindsay Johnson bought the first lady over all and first senior female in another record breaking time (38.27-Cani Fit), Paula Laidler (39.38) from Oban was the last entrant to sign up but made it worthwhile by being second overall female and second in category, the third lady over the line was Sarah McFadzean (39.44) from Campeltown Running Club. Regular Jail Breaker Dinah Bosomworth (42.15) from Ormsary Jogscotland and the Knapdale runners led the V40 ladies over the line as usual with Heather Gorman (43.42)) from Campbeltown and Fiona Corner (46.36) from inveraray jogscotland coming second and third. The V50 ladies were in fabulous form with Mid Argyll jogscotland member and leader Elaine McCann in her first Jail Break coming in first (43.51) followed by Campbeltown’s Margaret Sinclair (44.30) and Mid Argyll jogscotland’s Jane MacKensie (47.21). The female junior winner was local girl Freya Corner a veteran of the race having run it four times now (42.05 - Inveraray jogscotland and MAAC).

Whilst the adults were conquering the top part of the hill, and especially the challenging down the Junior Jail Breakers (12-15 yrs)were racing through a 2.5 mile course with a 70m elevation. Setting some fine times to beat in the future the first over the line was Cameron Campbell from Cambeltown (17.21) followed by first female and second over all Cara Gorman (19.31), third overall and second Male was Inveraray’s Cameron Bain (23.12) with Hannah Teape (25.24 - MAAC) second girl and fourth overall. Mid Argyll Athletics Club took third male place as Shaun Doy finished in 31.16.

Kids on the Run, Megan Danson and Martha Paine

The Kids on the Run (6-11 yrs) is in its second year and had a great showing from the local area and further afield. MAAC continued to bag some prizes with Daniel Teape completing the 1.9 mile course in a new record of 12.48, second over the line was Gregor Campbell (12.59-Campbeltown) then Jake Gillespie (13.21-MAAC) in third position. Rachael Johnston (14.32-MAAC) was first female and fifth over all beating her own course record from last year, following Rachael was Jilly Lefedvre (15.26-MAAC), third was Violet Campbell the youngest competitor aged 6 (15.47). The first local home award was hotly contested after weeks (days maybe) of speculation with Craig MacIntyre (36.59) and Penny Hawdon (41.24) both from Inveraray jogscotland winning the race within a race in the end. The first jogscotland finisher was Brian Robertson from the Mid Argyll group (34.10).

View from the top

Kids on the Run